This is an important feature in the event that a user is not available to give approval. For example, say Bob went on vacation for a week but one of his participants needs a referral approved by Monday. You can set Albert as a backup so that the participant doesn’t lose out on the referral because Bob wasn’t at work to approve it.

Only users that do not currently have their approval requests forwarded to other users may be selected as backups. If a user is currently selected as a backup, they may not have their approval requests forwarded to another backup.

In addition, you can set the date range in which all incoming approval requests will be sent to the backup. Leaving both begin and end dates blank means that the approval requests will be forwarded indefinitely.

In-Depth Instructions

Step 1 – On the navigation bar, click Site Administration. Then select Manage Approvals.

Step 2 – Click the Approval Forwarding button at the top of the page.

Step 3 – You will see the following options:

  1. Check the box next to Show Disabled Users to add disabled users to the table.
  2. You can sort and filter by user name, email, or role in the current site.
  3. Click the Clear button to quickly remove all forwarding setup for that user.
  4. Click the Select User button to set up approval forwarding.
  5. Set the begin forwarding and end forwarding dates to set the time period for which the approvals will be forwarded.
  6. Click the Send Existing button to forward all approval requests currently pending for a user to their selected backup immediately.

Step 4 – Find the user you would like to set up forwarding for and click the Select User button in the Forward to User column.

Step 5 – Highlight the name of the user you wish to forward the approvals to. Then click the Select User button.

  • You can search and filter by user name, email, user type, or role.

Step 6 – Select the date to begin forwarding the approval requests.

  • To forward the requests indefinitely, leave this date blank.

Step 7 – Select the date to end forwarding the approval requests.

  • To forward the requests indefinitely, leave this date blank.

Step 8 – Click the Send Existing button if you wish to forward all currently pending requests to the user immediately.

Step 9 – Click the Clear button to remove all forwarding settings for that user.

Step 10 – Click the Save button to save and stay on the page or the Save and Close button to save and return to the Manage Approvals page.

Step 11 – Click the Ok button on the popup confirmation.

Summary

It is important to note that forwarding settings only affect approval requests sent in the current site. If you have access to multiple sites, you must alter the settings in each site you wish to have approval requests forwarded.

Did this answer your question?