What is Idle Timeout?

If a user is inactive for a certain period of time, ETO will automatically log them out of the software. Inactive means the user has not clicked on any feature or submitted any data for a specific period of time.That specific period of time is considered the idle time.

How to change Idle Timeout Interval:

  1. On the navigation bar, go to Site Administration.
  2. Under Site Administration, go to Manage My Site (New).
  3. Click on the Security Settings tab at the top of the page.
  4. Scroll down to the middle of the page where you will see “Idle Timeout Interval in Minutes.”
  5. Type in the box how many minutes you would like your user to be able to leave ETO open without the page timing out.

Best Practices:

  1. It is not recommended that idle timeout limit to be set for an extended period of time for security reasons.
  2. If your organization uses long TouchPoints, consider increasing the idle time so that the user does not time out. Recording a TouchPoint without clicking any other features or submitting the data considered inactive.
  3. Unsaved work is lost if a user times out of ETO.
Did this answer your question?