Introduction If you submit a new participant’s name/information into ETO and it matches another participant in the software (based on your Duplicate Check settings) you will get a Duplicate Information alert.

It can be common to be confused by this message, as it is not expected, but careful training and practicing the entry of duplicates with the last name Fake is a great way to become comfortable with reacting to the duplicate alert message.

Duplicates are found based on the Duplicate Check Settings found on the Manage Demographics page. The default settings check for duplicates by First Name AND Last Name OR SSN. You have the ability to specify whether matches are determined based on exact or similar matches and based on all or just a portion of the fields checked.

For example, if the fields selected are first name, last name, and SSN, set for at least 2 fields, a duplicate will be recognized if participants have the same response for 2 or more of the three fields. Modifying these settings can potentially generate different lists of duplicated participants. We have found that it is good practice to set a duplicate match on at least 2 items and mark three items for "exact match." 

In-Depth Instructions

After a new participant's name/information is submitted and the duplicate check settings determine a match, a list of possible matches of existing records will appear.

To Return and Edit the Demographics of the New Participant

If you click the Cancel button, you will be returned to the demographics of the participant you were trying to add so that you can edit them.

If the Participant is NOT a Duplicate

If you determine that the participant you are adding is NOT a duplicate of any potential matches, click the Add as New button.

You will get a confirmation that the participants was successfully added.

If the Participant IS a Duplicate

If you determine that the participant you are adding IS a duplicate of a potential match, first select the participant that matches and click Merge Participants.

Merge Participants makes the pre-existing participant the Master and the new participant the Duplicate. The Master Demographics are retained and new program enrollment is updatesd.

.

If the duplicate is already enrolled in the program, you will get a confirmation that the participant is enrolled.

If a duplicate is in the site but not currently enrolled in the program, they will be automatically enrolled and you will be given a confirmation of the enrollment.

Did this answer your question?